Hands On

For me, personal is the new professional.  Since participating in the fantastic Big Ideas in Higher Education conference almost two years ago, my outlook on professional development has completely changed.  I rarely benchmark my programs (moreso on Twitter than anywhere else!), I yawn through “best practices” workshops at conferences, and to be honest, I often don’t find professional development articles to be that interesting either.  Not to devalue any of these examples, but I truly learn the most from the personal: blogs, stories, TED talks, and most recently, looking inward and creating personal challenges for myself.  In the past month, I’ve embarked on multiple personal challenges that may or may not be considered professional, including #52in52 (reading 52 books in one year) and #100happydays (posting 100 pictures of things that bring me happiness for 100 days in a row).

That brings me to the title of this post, Hands On.  Of all the things that have brought me joy in the past six months since my wedding, the one that has benefited me the most, personally AND professionally, is my very first hobby: DIY.

DIY

I know what you’re thinking. Really?  You found your first hobby at age 27?  Sad, but true.  I’ve always been so focused on tasks, goal-setting, and my career, that I’ve actually never embarked on a hobby that was purely for my own enjoyment.  When the wedding dust settled and reality came crashing down around me, I knew it was time to get creative.

Embarking on my first DIY project helped me keep my hands (and mind!) busy while also creating a final, tangible product.  It’s enabled me to stretch my comfort zone by utilizing new tools and developing new skills.  In the past six months, I’ve changed door hardware, wallpapered a bookshelf, and arranged frame walls.  I’ve also become familiar with a screwdriver, learned painting techniques, and repurposed a windowframe from an old house into a piece of art.  That’s just scraping the surface.

Windowframe

What does this have to do with my personal or professional development?  Finding inspiration from others, creating visions for projects, and seeing them through from start to finish is relevant to any profession – whether it’s an event layout, social media strategy, or training program.  In addition, I’ve found that I am more skilled in balancing multiple projects, more confident in my creative abilities, and just generally happier when engaging in hands-on work in my spare time.

I can’t say enough about how much joy I have discovered through this hobby, especially in the spirit of “do” it yourself (there’s my pesky one word resolution again).  Even the simplest project has helped change my perspective.  I’m looking forward to sharing more of what I create on this blog, but I am already sharing through Twitter and Instagram, so you can see it for yourself in real time!

Leave a Reply

