Fresh Start, Fresh Paint

Sometimes, making a small change in your personal life influences your success and happiness in all aspects of your life.  In the spirit of “do”, I enlisted Dan in a project I’ve been aching to do for the past two years: we painted our bedroom.  (Note the special guest appearance by Wallace Klein).

This may not sound like a big deal to most of you, but living comfortably in our white-walled, unspackled bedroom for two years made it very difficult to temporarily move out into the guest bedroom just for a painting project.  The thought of being displaced from our bedroom crippled us for the past two years and prevented any changes from happening.  Here are the before shots.  Note: as part of my “do” resolution, I’m currently working on my iPhone photo taking skills.

Jan 5-5

Jan 5-6

Since this is the year of “do”, we took matters into our own hands.  One coat of primer, two coats of Benjamin Moore Palladian Blue, and two coats of white ceiling paint later, I am a very happy homeowner.  It’s amazing what a fresh coat of paint can do to completely transform a room.  Not only that, but having a completely empty room inspired me to wipe down hard-to-reach windows and vacuum every corner.  I also got to stand on a really tall ladder, which is always exciting for a petite (re: short) person.

For me, the most important part of the painting experience was feeling confident enough in myself to complete the task.  I’m not a particularly steady handed or graceful person, and I didn’t even trust myself to do more than roll paint onto the walls.  After some thought and shaking off some anxiety, I took on the task of trimming and cutting (without tape!).  Just using my two hands, two eyes, and continuously encouraging myself that I should take the risk and complete this project.  It required a lot of patience, honestly more than I thought I had, but in the end it was definitely worth getting off the couch, taking a risk, and doing it.

Jan 5-3

Jan 5-1

Jan 5-4

A simple task, with great results – both for the room and for myself.  I am proud that I took on even a small challenge, and I look forward to seeing how these small things add up for me this year!  Let’s “do” this.  What have you done so far this year?

2 thoughts on “Fresh Start, Fresh Paint

Leave a Reply

