One Word 2014: Do

It’s New Year’s Day. Today is a time for many to reflect, move with intention, and look forward to the future.  Last year, I made a #oneword resolution for the first time and tried to live it out as best I could.  With a wedding/honeymoon, pressures at work and home, and other factors, I did not follow through on the reflecting half of that resolution.  While I could make excuses for the past, I will instead state my #oneword for the future: do.

I am an often introspective and reflective person.  Though I’m not necessarily blogging about my thoughts, I am constantly dwelling on future projects, worries, and stressors in my life.  I spend a lot of time thinking about myself in comparison to others.  I think that if only I could do something different, I would be happier, more successful, or calmer.  Many of us have these thoughts, and it’s okay to have them once in a while.  However, I found myself in a constant state of comparison this year, spending too much time on social networks watching everyone else’s lives play out from my couch (in my Rutgers snuggie, drinking Arnold Palmers, with HGTV in the background).

No longer will I “want” or “hope” for something to get better.  While I am a cautious optimist, and always have been, it’s time for me to take matters into my own hands with my #oneword resolution: do.  It’s time to get off Pinterest and actually frame that piece of art.  It’s time to stop looking at other’s blogs and create one of my own.  It’s time to DO.  Act.  Move.  This is my call to action for myself.  I am passionate about creating things: stories, DIY projects, training programs, change.  

The-Thing-You-Cannot-Do

I actually started on my #oneword a little early this year by submitting to present a Pecha Kucha talk at ACPA, a national conference for student affairs professionals.  I admire so many of the speakers (hello out there!) and have often thought to myself, “why can’t I be more like them?”.  The only thing holding me back from being great is me.  Whether or not I am selected, I am proud to say that I have started moving on my professional and personal goals, and I hope you will join me in this journey on this blog and on Twitter @kristaknj.

Krista

Leave a Reply

